FALLOW US ON
Aa

Host Institution

The Institute of Physical Chemistry of the Polish Academy of Sciences (IPC) is a leading research entity localized in Warsaw, Poland (capital city). IPC has the highest research excellence category among research units in Poland (A+), which places us in top 5% of the best research units. 2014, the European Commission granted to IPC the “HR Excellence in Research” award for striving for improvement of working conditions for researchers, strengthening recruitment procedure (based on open, merit and transparent principles) and development of professional educational offer for researchers.

At IPC there are 29 research teams dealing with broadly understood chemistry, that carry out interdisciplinary research in chemistry inspired by biology/ medicine, pharmacy & physics. The leaders of our research groups are very independent, and act as managers of their own units.

IPC has modern equipment, and extensive experimental & application experience. The research equipment database is publicly available at IPC website.

Beside excellent research performance, IPC is also dedicated to commercialization. We carry out an initiative “IPC for the companies” offering consultancy, measurement services and patents for sale. We have a few spin-off and spin-out companies originated from our research. They act in the sectors of medical diagnostics (Curiosity Diagnosics, Scope Fluidics), and equipment for industry (Fluence). We have also found a way to support very niche commercial initiatives of our researchers co-financing first stages of development of their inventions (SERSitive, Siliquan).  

IPC hosted ERC grant and has a chair funded by the European Commission under the prestigious programme “ERA Chairs” (H2020) (CREATE project). Apart from the PD2PI project we also implement another project acknowledged by the European Commission under Marie Skłodowska-Curie Actions – NaMeS.

Our studies & research groups

Candidates applying to PD2PI project should start from choosing a research group from IPC conducting research in the field that may interest them. Subsequently, each candidate should select a mentor from this group who may support his/her project. We suggest to visit web pages of research groups listed below, select a mentor (it could be head of the group or other group member) and contact them in order to receive the supporting letter.

The supporting letter from IPC mentor is a prerequisite for your application to the programme.


Research group no.

Name of the research group

PI

Contact to PI

Research group 1

Plasmonic nanostructures for bio-spectroscopic analysis

Dr hab. Agnieszka Kamińska

akaminska@ichf.edu.pl

Research group 2

Living Materials

Dr Jan Paczesny

jpaczesny@ichf.edu.pl

Research group 3

Physical Optics and Biophotonics Group

Prof. dr hab. Maciej Wojtkowski

mwojtkowski@ichf.edu.pl

Research group 4

Surface Nanoengineering group

Dr hab. inż. Joanna Niedziółka-Jönsson

jniedziolka@ichf.edu.pl

Research group 5

Phase behaviour and dynamics in polymer solutions

Dr hab. Jacek Gregorowicz

jgregorowicz@ichf.edu.pl

Research group 6

Nanoelectrochemistry group

Dr hab. Wojciech Nogala

wnogala@ichf.edu.pl

Research group 7

Chemistry in Confined Spaces

Dr hab. Volodymyr Sashuk

vsashuk@ichf.edu.pl

Research group 8

Dynamics of light-induced bimolecular reactions

Dr hab. Gonzalo Angulo

gangulo@ichf.edu.pl

Research Group 9

Coordination metal complexes and functional materials

Prof. dr hab. inż. Janusz Lewiński

jlewinski@ichf.edu.pl

Research group 10

Soft Condensed Matter

Prof. dr. hab. Robert Hołyst

rholyst@ichf.edu.pl

Research group 11

Microfluidics and Complex Fluids Research Group

Prof. dr hab. Piotr Garstecki

pgarstecki@ichf.edu.pl

Research group 12

Organization and synthesis of nanoparticles

Dr hab. Marcin Fiałkowski

mfialkowski@ichf.edu.pl

Research group 13

Physical chemistry of complex systems

Dr hab. Wojciech Góźdź

wgozdz@ichf.edu.pl

Research group 14

Charge transfer processes in hydrodynamic systems

Dr hab. Martin Jönsson-Niedziółka

mjonsson@ichf.edu.pl

Research group 16

Dynamics of nanocrystal structure induced by surface chemistry

Dr hab. Zbigniew Kaszkur

zkaszkur@ichf.edu.pl

Research group 17

Environmental Chemistry Group

Dr hab. Rafał Szmigielski

rszmigielski@ichf.edu.pl

Research group 18

Functional Polymers

Dr Piyush Sindhu Sharma

psharma@ichf.edu.pl

Research group 19

Soft Granular Matter and Tissue Engineering

Dr Jan Guzowski

jguzowski@ichf.edu.pl

Research group 20 Cooperative catalysis Dr hab. Adam Kubas akubas@ichf.edu.pl

Research group 21

Spectroscopic and microscopic (STM/AFM) studies of intermolecular interactions

Dr hab. Robert Nowakowski

rnowakowski@ichf.edu.pl

Research group 22

Charge transfer in biological systems and at the interfaces

Dr Piotr Zarzycki

pzarzycki@ichf.edu.pl

Research group 23

Modified electrodes for potential application in sensors and cells

Prof. dr hab. Marcin Opałło

mopallo@ichf.edu.pl

Research group 24

Systems and Chemical Processing of Information

Prof. dr hab. Jerzy Górecki

jgorecki@ichf.edu.pl

Research group 25

Laboratory astrochemistry

Prof. dr hab. Robert Kołos

rkolos@ichf.edu.pl

Research group 27

Laser Centre

Dr hab. Yuriy Stepanenko

stepanenko@ichf.edu.pl

Research group 28

Catalysis for sustainable energy production and environmental protection

Dr hab. Juan Carlos Colmenares

jcarloscolmenares@ichf.edu.pl

Research group 29

Photophysics and spectroscopy of photoactive systems

Prof. dr hab. Jacek Waluk

jwaluk@ichf.edu.pl

Research group 30

Nuclear Hyperpolarization of Molecular Systems and Nanomaterials

Dr Tomasz Ratajczyk

tratajczyk@ichf.edu.pl

Research group 31

Biophysical Chemistry Group

 

Dr Anna Ochab – Marcinek

aochab@ichf.edu.pl

 

FALLOW US ON
hide